Daily Archives: March 10, 2024

Our Cats in Amsterdam – 5

“And who are the people on the other side?” I ask, “the people you need my help against?”

Arabella and Aubrey then go into a long explanation of my role and Gemma’s role too in the operation we’re about to undertake. It seems as though some people are doing some things they shouldn’t be doing with diamonds, guns, cannabis, and heroine, not all of which I am fully conversant with. Jane Eyre was a heroine and Charlotte Gray too, so I’m sure they want me to help due to my knowledge of books. 

“Would it be possible to meet Gemma?” asks Aubrey.

“She’s watching from the window,” says Jacqueline who gestures for her to come outside.

“Will Gemma be able to get through the gap?” asks Rob.

“She will,” I reply, “she’s undergone some lifestyle changes and is slimmer as a result.”

The crows nod in appreciation as Gemma slips through the gap the open window provides and climbs down the trellis in a practiced fashion.

“Hello,” says Gemma, “it’s good to see Reg, Ron, Rob, Seb, Stan, Sid, Jacqueline, and Barbara, but I don’t know those two crows.”

“Arabella,” says Arabella, “and Aubrey.” She gestures to Aubrey.

“Otherwise known as Aub,” I add in what I think is a helpful manner.

“Right, thank you, Freddie, Aubrey and Arabella, both very nice names.”

“We’re going to be replaced by stuffed toys,” I say, “and we’re going on an adventure. In the Low Countries where windmills and clogs come from. And Edam cheese and Gouda…”

“Thank you, Freddie, I know where the Low Countries are and what stereotypical objects people associate with them.” Gemma looks slightly miffed but then asks, “Has the rodent been stolen or the squirrel?”

“No, neither Rufus nor Holly has been stolen. We have to collect some information for Queen and Country.”

“Is that a magazine?” asks Gemma.

Aubrey patiently explained to Gemma what our holiday would involve in terms of time away from home.

“Where would we live, is there a cat hotel in Amsterdam?” she asks.

“We have a safe house where you and Freddie can stay,” replies Arabella.

“Well, I think Frederick and I should talk about this between ourselves,” replies Gemma, “and I would still like to know the details of what we’re expected to do in the city.”

“That’s fine,” says Arabella, “you two talk about things and we’ll be back this afternoon at 3pm to hear what you’ve decided and, if you’re interested, we’ll let you know what you’ll be doing over there in The Netherlands. My understanding is your humans will be packing tomorrow and leaving the following day.”

“That’s fine,” I say, “we’ll see you then.”

With that the crows fly off and leave Gemma and I sitting in the grass.

“It sounds like fun,” says Gemma, “although I’m not sure how the humans will react if they ever find out.”

“We should go inside and talk about this,” I reply.

“I think we should do it, Freddie, I think we should go to Holland. I just hope it won’t be dangerous.”

I agree with her and we climb back up the trellis and have a nap before meeting Arabella and Aubrey at 3pm.