Daily Archives: August 25, 2021

Book Review – Fear on the Phantom Special

A very readable story of 350 pages, the 17th in the Railway Detective series by Edward Marston

The murderer(s) are not obvious at all. At various times I suspected most of the leading characters but none of them were the ones who dunnit! There is a slightly weird ending which to my mind needs some explanation and I hope there’s a sequel explaining the ending. The only quibble is the method deployed to murder a character, which I think would have been heard by someone, but maybe not.

This book is recommended and I especially like how there are two mysteries in one, one being investigated by Robert Colbeck in the Lake District and another by his wife in London of a less serious nature.

Julian Worker is a writer of travel books, mystery stories, and fictional lists. His work can be seen here.